Economic Development Authority

The Economic Development Authority for the City of Long Lake is comprised of the five City Council members in office, and two at large resident members appointed by the Council to serve staggered two-year terms.  The Chair serves as the President of the EDA, and the City Administrator serves as the Executive Director / Treasurer.  Economic Development Authority meetings are held on the third Tuesday of the month or on an as needed basis beginning at 5:00 pm (subject to change), and meetings take place at Long Lake City Hall.

The broadest purposes of an Economic Development Authority are as follows:

  • Make land suitable and available for economic development uses and purposes, and encourage the location or expansion of economic development facilities.
  • Actively promote, attract, encourage, and develop economically sound industry and commerce through governmental action for the purposes of preventing the emergence of blighted and marginal lands in areas of chronic unemployment.  The Authority recognizes that commercial and industrial development purposes are often necessary to encourage economic development in a community.


In addition to the five currently seated City Council members, the following two residents are currently serving terms on the Board:

  • Sahand Elmtalab (Term Expires 12/2025)
  • Tim Hultmann (Term Expires 12/2024)